Harlow Sports Awards

Active Harlow logo

The aim of the Harlow Sports Awards is to celebrate and recognise local sporting talent and achievements in the Harlow area. The awards are nominated by members of the public and organised by Harlow Council.

The event last took place in 2018 and was a big success with over 100 nominations being received and international gymnastics coach Scott Hann MBE presenting the awards.


Runners Up


Changing Lives through Sport and Physical Activity


Little Scrummers  

Tara Whittle (Nordic Walking)

Dave Gordon (St. Mark’s West Essex Catholic School)


Coach of the Year


Mick Ellis (Harlow Judo Club)

Garry Leach (Flight Trampoline Club)

Luke Shipwright (Harlow Jiu-Jitsu Club)


Community Club of the Year


Harlow Judo Club

Harlow Tri Club

Frontiers Youth FC 


Disabled Sports Personality of the Year


Richard Chiassaro (Wheelchair Racing)



Education Champion of the Year


Pemberley Academy 

Abbotsweld Primary School

Passmores Academy Sports Leaders


Services to Inclusive Sport


Barracuda Swimming Club 

Tara Whittle (Nordic Walking)


Sports Personality of the Year


Jo Harten (Netball)

Steven Mitchinson (Bowls)

Richard Chiassaro (Wheelchair Racing)

Gail Nicholls (Triathlon)


Unsung Hero


Nicola Arnold (Harlow Penguins)

Roy Stevens (Harlow Running Club)

Tara Whittle (Nordic Walking)


Young Sports Personality of the Year


Sheri-Anne Smith (Equestrian and Cheerleading)

Kai Boggon (Triathlon)

Owen Lambert (Judo)


Young Volunteer


Isobelle Morris (Harlow Penguins)

Thomas Penketh (Harlow Junior Parkrun)


Active in the Workplace


HTS (Property & Environment) Ltd. 

Christopher Tuckett (Princess Alexandra Hospital, Physiotherapist)

Harlow Council