Council structure

The Harlow Council Constitution sets out how we operate, how we make decisions and the procedures we follow.

The Harlow Council Corporate Plan 2021 outlines the council’s vision, with our principles and priorities and how we will achieve them over the next 3 years.

Councillors and Full Council

The council is run by 33 councillors, who form the Full Council. They are elected by the local community and serve for a period of 4 years, with one third of the council being re-elected every year.

The political control of Harlow Council is Conservative. There are 21 Conservative and 12 Labour councillors.

The Full Council is responsible for setting budgets and policies.

Full Council meetings take place 6 times a year and are open to the public.

The leader of the council chairs the Cabinet which is made up of councillors appointed by them with defined responsibilities or 'portfolios'. 

The leader of the council and cabinet portfolio holders will be appointed at the Annual Council meeting on 27 May 2021.

The chair of the council is chosen by the council and is the Harlow's first citizen and representative.


To support the Cabinet, we have a number of other committees where councillors take decisions.

Each committee focuses on a specific council function. The committees consider issues in detail at scheduled meetings, and then decisions or recommendations are made to the Cabinet or to the Full Council.

You can view all our different committees

Council staff and departments

Whilst elected councillors set the policies, paid employees (council officers) put them into practice.

The council employs over 400 staff. These include housing officers, customer advisors and staff responsible for a wide range of services.

There are 5 services in Harlow Council:

  • Housing
  • Community Wellbeing
  • Environment and Planning
  • Governance
  • Finance

Council senior management team

For full details of our staff structure, you can view our organisation chart.

Chief Executive

Brian Keane is the Chief Executive of Harlow Council.


Simon Freeman is the Deputy to the Chief Executive and Director of Finance.

Responsible for:

  • Accountancy
  • ICT
  • Insurance
  • Internal Audit
  • Revenues and Benefits
  • Projects
  • Properties and Facilities


Andrew Murray is the Director of Housing.

Responsible for

  • Housing Management
  • Housing Assets and Business Systems
  • Housing Operations Property
  • Supported Housing
  • Home Ownership
  • Housing Projects
  • Housing Needs and Options

Community Wellbeing

Jane Greer is the Director of Communities and Environment.

Responsible for:

  • Community, Leisure and Culture
  • Community Safety and Emergency Planning
  • Regeneration
  • Strategy and Economic Development
  • Youth and Citizenship

Environment and Planning

Andrew Bramidge is the Director of Strategic Growth and Regeneration.

Responsible for:

  • Environment and Licensing
  • Planning and Building Control


Simon Hill is the Director of Governance and Corporate Support.

Responsible for:

  • Corporate and Governance Support
  • Electoral Services
  • Human Resources
  • Legal Services
  • Relationship and Commissioning
  • Customer and Media Services